About Me!

Mr. Lawrence poses in his favorite corner of the SSC

Hello!

My Name is Karohn Lawrence and I am currently a Senior at University City Promise Academy High School. I am in the school’s STEM Academy. STEM Stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. 

1. Why do you think your Academy is the best one?
Our academy is the best in the school because we have our school’s brightest students. The students in the STEM academy work hard and well to make our Academy look good. Our Academy is also the only one in the school that has a whole floor to itself with the exception of a couple teachers. Our students are almost never in any incidents because we are set apart from other student in the building, since we’re located on the 3rd floor.  So the fact of the matter is, STEM Academy is the best in the school because we have science labs. Ha ha.

2. If you were a piece of clothing, what would you be?
If I were an article of clothing, I would be a tie. I Choose the tie because it is the silent professional and that represents me as the silent professional I am.

3. Personal Statement
Changing my school and community is important to me because…

my community is where I live and it represents where I come from, and my school is like a second home where the students of the community are supposed to come together and make things happen. One thing I am doing to hopefully make my school and community better is running a change campaign. This campaign is on the litter issue in our community. We plan on making a documentary to raise the awareness of this issue and get people to start thing about recycling in their communities and schools.

Going to college is important to me because it is the only way I would be able to be who I want to be.  I want to go to University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business undergraduate program. I chose this college because Wharton is one of the best business schools in the country and it is close to home.  The steps I am taking to get there are simple: I am getting all my recommendation, I filled out their application, I wrote 2 essays, and I am doing my best work this year as a senior.

A successful career means to have a career you love doing and you can do any day. The thing that influences me is the fact that I am great in math so I want to do a career in finances because I love the subject of math. I also think of myself as a young intellectual so I want to do something in philosophy.

–Karohn Lawrence ’11

*Check a few posts down for a recap of the prompts. More intros from SSC interns to come soon, so stay tuned.*

2 thoughts on “About Me!

  1. Karohn, you are professional, but not sure you are silent 🙂
    Thanks for leading our school with the change campaign on the litter issue, we need more leaders like you in our community!

  2. Karohn, I’m so proud of all the progress you’ve made on our project so far this year. It has been a pleasure to be your educator and mentor! You rock!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

