Teacher Spotlight: Souhoud introduces us to Dr. Janowitz

 I’m interviewing Dr. Janowitz who has been here for at least 12 years. He is the ESOL and AP coordinator here at UCHS Promise Academy. Dr. Janowitz teaches Anthropology and Geometry. I had him in my freshman year for Geometry, and I’m hin his Anthropology class now.

After taking the course for just four months I already consider majoring in Anthropology. I enjoy his class because it teaches me not to judge people but to take them in and accept them with whatever they are. I really think that’s fascinating and I’m glad that I’m learning it.

What college did you go to?
Ohio Wesleyan and Temple University.

Why and how did you decide to become a teacher?
I always liked school, and I think it’s nice to work with the next generation because it’s the most important thing to do for the next life.

What’s your favorite part about teaching and working at UCHS Promise Academy?
Seeing young people learn, think, look at the world differently. I think the Promise Academy is trying to change education in a positive manner.

What is something about you that students might be surprised to learn?
I enjoy going to Las Vegas and Eastern Europe  towork with teachers in Lithuania.

What would you tell to a student who doesn’t want to go to college?
All students should think about going to college, and if not, they should prepare themselves for future work. They should not just stop in high school but try to go farther.

–Interview by Souhoud Sore ’11

Photo courtesy of http://www.sas.upenn.edu/~psanday/UCHS/UCHS.Curriculum.htm.

Leave a Reply

