Supreme Court comes to UCHS: Part I

Darryl lays down the law.

On Monday, February 14, 2011 My 5th period class finally acted as justices on the Philadelphia v. Ted’s Pizza case. It was held in the auditorium and it lasted about one class period. Mr. Schiera’s 6th period class were the ones arguing the issue of the case. One side was for Philadelphia and the other was for Ted’s Pizza.

I felt kind of nervous about being a justice because it was my first time doing it and wasn’t sure how I would do. As it went on I felt more comfortable about it and participated more than I thought I would. I think both sides had good, valid points, but in the end we decided to go with Ted’s Pizza over Philadelphia. The main reasons I went with Ted’s Pizza were that they gave strong points, and I thought it was wrong to move people out of their homes, no matter the reason. Overall it was a good experience and I enjoyed doing it.

–Darryl Bell ’11

Read more about the cases, the project, and Mr. Schiera’s class at http://uchssupremecourt.blogspot.com/, and keep an eye out for Ashley’s take on a different case, coming soon.

3 thoughts on “Supreme Court comes to UCHS: Part I

  1. Pingback: Supreme Court @ UCHS, part II «

Leave a Reply

