Money smarts with Precious: beware the credit card trap!

The way I budget my money is to not have a debit/credit card. I have an ATM card because it gives me the choice to take out as much money as I want. It will be no more than 60 dollars every week. So if I were to go in the store and buy something and I pull out my money, and I see I have under 60 to spend, I spend wisely. But on the other hand if I had a debit/credit card and I do not track how much money I’m spending and how much I have left, I’ll start spending away. With my ATM card if I take out money and if I want more money, I need to go find an ATM and while I’m trying to find it, it gives me a second thought about buying what I want and taking out more money. So what I’m saying is, for me, the ATM card just gives me a second thought about whether I should really buy something or not. It also helps me keep track of my money.

–Precious Lewis ’11

One thought on “Money smarts with Precious: beware the credit card trap!

Leave a Reply

