Public speaking: the big day!

Yesterday was the day to give our speeches and I had to give a speech on the Student Success Center and how it has influenced me. I was preparing to give the speech for about two or three weeks and I can say the help I received from my Penn mentor was very helpful. I felt I did better than I expected to do. I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be. I talked about how I was before the Student Success Center and how I was extremely shy and didn’t believe in my potential as an individual and the SSC helped me believe in myself. Now I’m not as shy, and I know I can do anything I want as long as I put in the work and dedication. The Student Success Center was very helpful for my high school career and helped me grow a lot, and I’m very thankful to have had the opportunity to be a part of the SSC program.

–Darryl Bell ’11
(Hang in there, pictures are on the way)

Leave a Reply

